Pizza Friday: Wheatball Pizza

This post contains many firsts! It was my first time cooking from Vegan on the Cheap, which just came in the mail a few days ago. It was my first time using the shredding blade on my food processor (which was fun, and I only did because I had the food processor out already). It was also my first time putting carrots in marinara sauce, and my first time making a “meatball” pizza.

The pizza was inspired by this delicious looking one posted on the PPK forums. The original purpose of my pizza was to see how it would taste with Veganomicon beanballs, but then I saw the wheatballs in VOTC and was eager to try them. I also made the marinara sauce from VOTC instead of Vegan With a Vengeance‘s pizza sauce.

vegan meatball pizza

The wheatballs were a huge hit for both myself and my mother, and will definitely be taking the place of beanballs for my go-to non-meat ball o’ protein. The marinara sauce, while good, wasn’t as awesome as VWAV’s pizza sauce, so that’ll still be my go-to sauce recipe. The pizza overall smelled wonderful coming out of the oven (and tasted just as good), though next time I definitely gotta put some veggies on as well! Somehow, I didn’t even think of it (d’oh!).

Hopefully tomorrow I will be posting another pizza, since I didn’t post this one last week and still have one pizza dough left (defrosting overnight in the fridge as we speak). I have a feeling it’s gonna be a good’un, too.

PS: don’t forget to vote for your favorite gay cake if you haven’t already!

3 thoughts on “Pizza Friday: Wheatball Pizza

  1. Pingback: Momzilla’s Vegan Week! | Louzilla Lovegood Letters

Leave a Reply

