Seitan Philly Cheezsteak

What better way to use my leftover pizza sauce and vegan cheeses than on a Philly cheezsteak? I’ve gone long enough living this close to the City of Brotherly Love without making my own version of the sandwich it’s so well known for.

I decided to make the seitan based off this recipe because it’s ridiculously easy. Seriously, if you’re annoyed that your seitan always comes out looking like brains just make this!

I wanted to set out to make my cheezsteak as authentic as I could, especially since most restaurants I see selling vegan cheezsteaks overload them with vegetables. C’mon, guys, it’s supposed to be UNHEALTHY. (I’ve heard Govinda’s in Philly has a really good chickn cheezsteak, but I’ve yet to try it.)

Anyway, I made a few tweaks to the recipe to make it more “steak-like,” but it somehow came out with a chicken nugget-y flavor—so my cheezsteak became a chik’n cheezsteak. It was also a little dry; that’s what I get for taking the easy way out and baking. If I made this again, I would leave out the peanut butter and possibly add some oil.

vegan chicken philly cheesesteak

Seitan Philly [Chikn] Cheezsteak

2/3 cup water
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons peanut butter
8 tablespoons vital wheat gluten
7 tablespoons nutritional yeast
4 tablespoons whole wheat flour
4 tablespoons white flour
1 tablespoon corn meal
1 teaspoon each: onion powder, garlic salt, and Montreal steak seasoning

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a dry bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Add the water and mix with a strong fork until almost all of the dry powder is absorbed, being careful not to overmix. Form the dough into a flat shape about 1/2 inch thick.

Heat the peanut butter and mix with olive oil until consistent. Pour mixture on top of dough. Fold dough over and flatten, continuing kneading this way until all of the olive oil and peanut butter is incorporated (this part gets messy!).

Pull apart 1/2-inch strips of dough and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Flip and bake for 10 more minutes. Remove from oven.

Slice a small onion and saute in olive oil over medium heat. Add seitan and a few more dashes Montreal steak seasoning and saute for about 3 minutes, chopping up the seitan into smaller pieces with your spatula.

Move the seitan/onion mixture aside and toast a hoagie roll briefly on the skillet. Spoon some pizza sauce onto the roll, fill with seitan, and top with shredded nondairy cheese of your choice (I tried it with both Daiya and Teese, and both were acceptable). Broil for about 1 minute or until cheese is melted. Enjoy!

Eating the vegan cheesesteak
I eat my own food because it’s delicious!

 

13 thoughts on “Seitan Philly Cheezsteak

  1. I’ll have to give this a try! I’ve been to Govinda’s – it’s the perfect answer to greasy takeout.

    I see you’re holding the Morning Call there – I went to high school in Coopersburg! I’m not excited about the fact, just that you might be in the Valley. Oh, wait that’s not exciting either. But I know of a place you might live. Creepy fun!

      1. Awesome – at least we have Vegan Treats, right? It’s funny how many people have never heard of the area, but vegans always seem to know about it.

        I’m coming home next week and I haven’t been there in awhile. Are there any other restaurants or vegan hotspots I should check out?

      2. Vegan Treats is amazing! If you haven’t been, you should definitely check out Cali Burrito on Hamilton Blvd, they have amazing burritos (I recommend the Humboldt)! There’s also a new veg-friendly burrito joint in Bethlehem (Hello Burrito), but I hear it’s not as good. I did a round-up of vegan-friendly places in the LV last year for MoFo, but it’s a little outdated… I should really get on doing a new, updated version!

  2. Pingback: 100 cooking blogs for students

Leave a Reply

