Mexican Love Affair

My mom grew up in Pennsylvania around PA Dutch cooking, and my dad grew up in Tuscon, Arizona eating lots of Mexican food. Now, Pennsylvania Dutch food is some of the least vegan-friendly food out there, so naturally I’ve been wanting to veganize some recipes. But instead, I’m finding myself cooking Mexican-style food.

This is one of my favorite quick gringa Mexican dishes, recipe courtesy of Kittee (who is also the wonderful person who did most of the organizing for VeganMoFo! Go Kittee!). They’re no-queso quesadillas, made with a cheezy nooch (nutritional yeast) sauce. If I’m looking for something quick and junk food-y to eat, I’ll make this. The recipe can be found here.

no-queso quesadillas

 

I had some cilantro that needed to be used up, so I made a cilantro sauce to go on top. I just threw cilantro, olive oil, lime juice, and garlic in the food processor until I reached some sort of thick sauce-like consistency, and spooned it on top of the quesadillas. I could hardly taste the cilantro though, because I put too much garlic in so the garlic flavour overpowered everything else!

My other Mexican go-to meal is veggie fajitas. I usually like to get them at Fiesta Ole, but yesterday I didn’t know what to make and my mom had bought this really pretty colorful pepper so I decided to use it in fajitas.

pretty bell pepper

 

Basically, I just sautee onions, garlic, and red pepper (or in this case orange/green) in olive oil, then add some spices (cayenne, chili powder, cumin, oregano) and maybe some lime juice and/or hot sauce. If I’ve planned ahead, I’ll also have a jalapeno to add some extra spice, but I don’t always have one on hand. Mushrooms are also good in fajitas, if you’re into that sort of thing. Then just serve on a plate with some tortillas. Optimally, again, I would’ve had an avocado or two with which to make guacamole, but I was out (I bought some today though!).

veggie fajitas

Muy bonita, ¿no?

2 thoughts on “Mexican Love Affair

  1. Pingback: Lunchbox Tuesdays: Burritos 3 Ways | Louzilla Lovegood Letters

Leave a Reply

