Kiwi berries!

The other day I was at work and noticed something new and different on our produce manager’s cart. I asked her what they were, and she told me they were kiwi berries and told me to try one. So I opened the package and picked one out, wondering how to eat this little thing… was I supposed to just pop it in my mouth? It looked like a little, fuzzless kiwi, and most people don’t eat the skins of kiwi.

kiwi berries in clamshell

But Mel told me to just eat the whole thing, so I bit into it and it looked just like a miniature kiwi… tasted like one, too. The berries were a little underripe, so it was tart like a kiwi, though once they ripen they become sweeter.

kiwi berry

Mel then told me that she had ordered them on a whim, without asking our boss, and he was a little annoyed about this. So I decided I’d buy a package and took it upon myself to get other people to buy some, too. They weren’t hard to sell, because people saw something new and unusual in the produce case and were eager to try it out. In fact, when I went back to work today I wanted to buy some more but we were all sold out! Take that, Mr. Skeptic Boss Man.

I decided to look kiwi berries up online, since I had never heard of them before. The label on the package called them a “nutrient-dense superfruit,” so I wanted to find out just what they meant by that.

According to oregonlive.com:

“a 6-ounce portion contains significant amounts of 20 nutrients, including twice the vitamin E of an avocado, with only 60 percent of the calories. They have five times the vitamin C of an orange and more potassium than bananas. Kiwi berries are also high in fiber and rich in folic acid.”

Wow! If Mel decides to order more, I will definitely buy some to cut up and put on top of pancakes.

5 thoughts on “Kiwi berries!

  1. Those are so cute! I’m just wondering, do they have a slightly more firm texture than big kiwi? I love the flavor but the texture just gets me, I’m hoping this is my magic solution.

    1. louzilla

      Although I haven’t had a regular kiwi in a while (bad vegan!), i can tell you these do not have a more firm texture. They’re pretty soft and, as my coworker described them, “creamy.”

  2. ooo, cute! i’ve never seen or heard of these before. another lesson learned because of veganmofo. yay!

    also, your kitty at the top of the page has a very “i see what you did there” look about him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

